Please click here to go to Virtual Conference Platform for Delegates


Workshops are on 24th March, 2022. Details below

Click Here To Register

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) is a newer neuromodulatory technique, it is a focal non-invasive form of brain stimulation technique based on the principles of electromagnetic induction first introduced by Barker et al in 1985. Application of short magnetic pulses over the scalp of subject induces electrical current in the neurons of the cortex. Initially approved for treatment of depression by FDA the technique has now emerged as a non-invasive method of stimulating brain areas and revolutionized our understanding of neurophysiology. Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (rTMS) has now found place in neuromodulation, management of psychiatric conditions, neurological conditions such as stroke and pain management. The current online workshop on transcranial magnetic stimulation aims at familiarizing the participants with the basic principles and potential use of TMS in diagnosis and treatment of various neurological conditions. The highlights of the workshop include; understanding the TMS equipment through principles of electromagnetic induction and mechanism of localization of specific brain areas for rTMS therapy , various stimulus paradigms of rTMS therapy, administration of real and sham rTMS therapy, deciding the dosage of therapy in different neurological conditions, indications ,contraindications and safety norms while giving TMS therapy.

Convenor: Dr Renu Bhatia (Additional professor, Deptt. Of Physiology)

Co-convenor: Dr Akanksha (Associate professor, Deptt. Of Physiology), Dr. Reni Benny (Senior Resident, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation)

Resource persons:

PhD Scholar: Dr. Suvercha Arya, Ms Samreen Fatima, Mr Aasheesh Kumar, Dr Garima Sharma
MD Students: Dr Shilpa ,Dr Avany
M.Sc Students: Mr Deepanshu Vats, Ms Ananya Kar, Ms Monika Kataria, Ms Ananya Dwivedi

Time Topic Speaker
09:30 AM - 10:15 AM Introduction to TMS Dr Renu Bhatia
10:15 AM - 10:45 AM Instrumentation and principle of TMS Ms. Samreen Fatima
Ms. Monika Kataria
10:45 AM - 11:00 AM Live demonstration on localization of brain areas for therapeutic intervention Dr. Suvercha Arya
Ms. Ananya Kar
11:00 AM - 11:15 AM Stimulation paradigm and contraindications Dr. Avany
Mr. Deepanshu Vats
11:15 AM - 12:15 PM Live recording of Cortico-Motor Excitability (CME) Mr. Aasheesh Kumar
Ms. Ananya Dwivedi
12:15 PM - 12:45 PM Live demonstration of rTMS therapy for pain management Dr. Garima Sharma
Dr. Shilpa
12:45 PM - 01:00 PM Potential use of TMS in medical science Dr. Akansha
01:00 PM - 01:30 PM Open discussion

For all registered delegates, a workshop on Radio frequency ablation is being organized during the IAPMRCon 2022.Radio frequency ablation is a newer intervention for the treatment of chronic pain. In the past decade, RFA is increasingly being used in interventional physiatry practice. With this workshop, delegates will receive comprehensive education on this procedure, many applications, patient selection and criteria, symptom diagnoses, and various treatment options.

Workshop Convenor: Dr SL Yadav, Professor (PMR), AIIMS, New Delhi.

Workshop Co-Convenor:

  1. Dr Ajay Gupta, Professor (PMR), VMMC & Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi
  2. Dr. Navita Vyas, Consultant, Pain Medicine, KDAH, Mumbai.

          Time           Topic Speaker Chair
14:00 – 14:10 Overview of intervention physiatry Dr SL Yadav
14:10 – 14:30 Basics of Radiofrequency Dr Ashish Dr SL Yadav
14:30–14:40 Q&A
14:40 – 15:10 Clinical application of Radiofrequency in treating chronic pain due to disorders of Lumbar disc and Lumbar facet Dr Pankaj N Surange Dr. Navita Vyas
15:10 – 15:25 Radiofrequency safety and efficacy Dr Rajesh Parmanik Dr Ajay Gupta
15:25 – 15:35 Q&A All Speakers
15:35 – 16:05 Clinical application of Radiofrequency in treating chronic pain in Shoulder, Sacroiliac and Hip Dr Sanjeev K Sharma Dr Chethan C
16:05 - 16:20 Tea Break
16:20 - 16:35 Radiofrequency Ablation in comparison with Nerve blocks and Steroids Dr Nitesh Gonade Dr Satyaranjan Sethi
16:35 – 16:45 Q&A All Speakers
16:45 – 17:25 Case presentations Dr. Navita Vyas
Dr Prem Anand
Dr Rajendra Sharma
17:25 – 17:35 Q&A All Speakers
17:35 – 17:45 Vote of thanks Dr Ajay Gupta